Multiple Teams · Eagle Fall Athletes Earn High Honors

This past Monday the Southfield Christian Athletic Department hosted their annual fall sports awards night.  This past season was a record season for the varsity volleyball team as they advanced to the MHSAA State Semifinal for the first time in school history.  The team finished with 27 wins as they won their 2nd straight regional and 4th straight district titles.  Junior Emily Van Dyke became the 1st Eagle in school history to surpass 1,000 kills and her 534 kills this past season is also a school record.  Junior Caitlin Warnshuis had 434 kills this season which is the 2nd highest total in a season while Junior Rachel Stiteler broke the school record for assists in a season with 884.  The volleyball team also got it done in the classroom earning Team Academic All State Honors from the volleyball coaches association while Senior Grace Sanders earned individual Academic All State Honors.

The rest of our fall teams showed improvement from the previous fall season.  The girls’ cross country team finished as the conference runner-up while just missing qualifying as a team at the MHSAA State Meet.  The team was represented at the State Meet by Freshman Alexis Donnan.  The soccer team improved their record this past season with a number of new faces.  Senior soccer players Austin Guthrie and Ben Rathnaw both earned All Academic Honors from the soccer coaches association.  Finally the football team finished the season off with a strong win by defeating conference rival Oakland Christian 19-14 in the last game of the season.

GIRLS CROSS COUNTRY, 4th @ Regional & 2nd @ Conference

State Qualifier: Alexis Donnan

MIAC All Conference 2nd Team: Madelin Chau, Alexis Donnan & Kayla Williams

MIAC All Conference Academic: Madelin Chau, Alexis Donnan, Kendall Huff, Holly Smith, Isabella Stephens & Kayla Williams

Eagle Award Winner: Holly Smith

Most Valuable Athlete: Madelin Chau

Most Improved Athlete: Alexis Donnan

Most Team Spirited: Holly Smith

4 Year Award: Madelin Chau & Holly Smith

MITCA Regional Coach of the Year: Todd Crouch

BOYS CROSS COUNTRY, 7th @ Regional & 6th @ Conference

MIAC All Conference Academic: Ashton Glenn, Kristopher Matthews, Micah Nelson, Tyler Kowalski, Jonah Stephens & Eric Wagoner

Eagle Award Winner: Eric Wagoner

Most Valuable Athlete: Eric Wagoner

Most Improved Athlete: Ashton Glenn

Most Team Spirited: Jonah Stephens

4 Year Award: Eric Wagoner

FOOTBALL: 3-6 (1-3, T-3rd MIAC Conference)

MIAC All Conference 1st Team: Ian Hanafee, Robert Reynolds & CJ Sexton

MIAC All Conference 2nd Team: Christopher Grace & Matthew Guerra

MIAC All Conference Academic: Alexandur Ely, Caleb Glenn, Christopher Grace, Matthew Guerra, Ian Hanafee, Asher LaTurno, Gabriel McFerrin, Blake Parpart, Robert Reynolds, Matthew Webber & Daniel Wiggins

Eagle Award Winner: William Carey

Most Valuable Athlete: CJ Sexton

Most Improved Athlete: Christopher Grace

Most Team Spirited: Danny Wiggins

4 Year Award: Christopher Grace, Asher LaTurno & Robert Reynolds

BOYS SOCCER: 7-8-4 (5-3-2, 3rd Place MIAC Conference Red)

MIHSSCA All Academic: Austin Guthrie & Ben Rathnaw

MIHSSCA All District: Austin Guthrie, Luke Hanson, Austin Little & Jack Ross

MIAC All Conference 1st Team: Luke Hanson & Jack Ross

MIAC All Conference 2nd Team: Chris Davenport, Austin Guthrie & Andrew Sanders

MIAC All Conference Academic: Dubem Amene, Chris Davenport, Austin Guthrie, Luke Hanson, Nathan Kragt, Ben Rathnaw, Brett Ross, Jack Ross, Khari Wilson-Ross & Micah Slater

Eagle Award Winner: Nathan Kragt

Most Valuable Athlete: Jack Ross

Most Improved Athlete: Bryson Glenn

Most Team Spirited: Nathan Kragt

4 Year Award: Austin Guthrie, Nathan Kragt, Ben Rathnaw & Jack Ross

VOLLEYBALL: 27-10-4 (7-3, T-2nd MIAC Conference Blue), MHSAA District Champions, MHSAA Regional Champions, MHSAA Semifinalist

MIVCA Academic All State: Grace Sanders

MIVCA All Region: Rachel Stiteler, Emily Van Dyke & Caitlin Warnshuis

MIAC All Conference 1st Team: Emily Van Dyke & Caitlin Warnshuis

MIAC All Conference 2nd Team: Hayley Ellington & Rachel Stiteler

MIAC All Academic: Hayley Ellington, Grace Hammers, Caroline Keating, Lauren Korotney, Grace Sanders, Rachel Stiteler & Emily Van Dyke

Eagle Award Winner: Emily Van Dyke

Most Valuable Athlete: Emily Van Dyke

Most Improved Athlete: Jada Manns

Most Team Spirited: Hayley Ellington

JV VOLLEYBALL: 6-9 Overall Record

Most Valuable Athlete: Jade Miller

Most Improved Athlete: Fallon Norman

Most Team Spirited: Eden Stokes


Most Valuable Athlete: Hannah Reddpogu

Most Improve Athlete: Karringtyn Johnson

Most Team Spirited: Gretchen Bowman

Picture Courtesy of D. Veldman